The University of Victoria has won the MathWorks modeling award as part of the EcoCAR 2 student competition.

The award recognizes the team’s use of MATLAB and Simulink for Model-Based Design during the three-year competition to reengineer a 2013 Chevrolet Malibu to improve its fuel efficiency.

Alonside the University of Victoria, other schools on the podium included Ohio State University and Mississippi State University, winning second and third place respectively.

Eleven EcoCAR 2 teams participated in the MathWorks Modeling Award competition. The teams demonstrated their innovative use of modeling and simulation through a presentation and Q&A session coinciding with the end of Year Two of the three-year challenge. Winners were assessed on how well they applied Model-Based Design concepts using MathWorks tools, including the key areas of plant modeling, control design and tuning, data analysis, industrial grade Model-Based Design development process elements, and lessons learned.

“Student competitions are a great way to inspire our next generation of engineers while giving them an appreciation for working toward greater causes,” said Paul Smith, Director, Consulting Services Group, MathWorks. “These competitions also give students real-world engineering experience with the hardware and software used in professional environments. MathWorks was very impressed with the enthusiasm and professionalism of the student presenters.”

Earlier this year, the competition body announced that Penn State had won overall the second year of this competition.

EcoCAR2 is described as a three-year competition managed by Argonne National Laboratory and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy, GM and 30 other government and industry leaders giving students the opportunity to gain real-world automotive engineering experience while striving to improve the environmental impact and energy efficiency of a 2013 Chevrolet Malibu.

The 15 university teams are now spending year three of EcoCAR 2 perfecting their designs before the competition finals in Washington, D.C., in May 2014.