Renault is raising its profile in the FIA Formula E Championship.

With the championship’s inaugural race in Beijing in September, the French carmaker announced that it will step up its involvement in the new series in the form of backing for the e.dams team.

Renault said it will be the title sponsor of the team which is co-owned by Jean-Paul Driot and four-time Formula 1 world champion Alain Prost, who is also an ambassador for the Renault brand.

This involvement with the French team will allow Renault to maximize the coverage of its participation in the new championship which promises to be particularly attractive, said the carmaker.

The brand’s name will appear on the cars, as well as on the drivers’ race suits and helmets. Renault added a pro-active communication program is also planned for the championship’s inaugural season.

“Jean-Paul Driot and I are delighted to be associated with Renault in this new adventure,” said Alain Prost. “The choice of Renault as a major partner was a perfectly natural step because of the exceptional record it has carved out in motorsport, as well as its unique expertise in the field of electric vehicles. Personally, I am thrilled by the idea of working with Renault on such an ambitious project again and by the prospect of writing a new chapter of our association. I am confident that our venture will be successful. We are actively preparing for the first races of the season. This week’s test at Donington is the next step in that process and it will be followed by a busy summer in order to be ready and competitive for the first grand prix in Beijing, on September 13.”

The e.dams-Renault team has announced that its drivers will be Nicolas Prost and Sébastien Buemi, two well-known names from the worlds of Formula 1 and endurance racing.

2014 – 2015 FIA Formula E Championship Calendar

  • 13/09/2014:       Beijing
  • 18/10/2014:       Putrajaya
  • 13/12/2014:       Punta del Este
  • 10/01/2015:       Buenos Aires
  • 14/02/2015:       Venue to be confirmed
  • 14/03/2015:       Miami
  • 04/04/2015:       Los Angeles
  • 09/05/2015:       Monaco
  • 30/05/2015:       Berlin
  • 27/06/2015:       London