Long Beach was electrified by a Formula E race this Easter weekend.

The Long Beach, Calif. circuit hosted the sixth ePrix of the FIA Formula E Championship season. This sixth race was also the final round in the Americas.

In California, a short distance from Hollywood, cars and drivers have set new benchmarks for pole position and the fastest race lap in this all-electric series.

SEE ALSO: Monaco Formula E Layout Confirmed

Nelson Piquet jr. of China Racing claimed victory, ahead of Jean-Eric Vergne (Andretti) and Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt).

Nelson Piquet is the sixth winner of a Formula E race in as many ePrix and won his first Formula E race in the same spot where his father scored his maiden Formula 1 victory.

Sébastien Buemi of e.dams-Renault grabbed pole position in qualifying, before being penalized for running with energy levels above the authorized limit.

Daniel Abt of Audi Sport Abt was therefore promoted to pole position, setting a new series record for the fastest average speed in qualifying of 134.7 kilometers per hour (83.70 mph). Third on the starting grid, Nelson Piquet surged into the lead at the first corner. In spite of two safety car periods, the Brazilian managed to hold onto the lead, only relinquishing control briefly to Bruno Senna (Mahindra Racing) when the drivers came into the pits to change cars.

The battle behind the leader was tense and highly-charged, as Jean-Eric Vergne took advantage of the pit stops to overtake Daniel Abt, who picked up a penalty for excessive energy consumption.

The FIA Formula E Championship now heads back to Europe. The next race will be held on May nine in Monaco.


1. Nelson Piquet (China Racing) 39 laps

2. Jean-Eric Vergne (Andretti) +1.705

3. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt) +2.994

4. Sébastien Buemi (e.dams-Renault) +3.518

5. Bruno Senna (Mahindra Racing) +8.844

6. Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Dragon Racing) +13.460

7. Antonio Felix da Costa (Amlin Aguri) +16.171

8. Jaime Alguersuari (Virgin Racing) +17.975

9. Loïc Duval (Dragon Racing) +18.436

10. Stéphane Sarrazin (Venturi) +20.418

Fastest lap: Nicolas Prost (e.dams-Renault) 58.973