All-electric racing series Formula E is heading to New York next year.

The announcement was made by series CEO Alejandro Agag at the Brooklyn Cruise Ship Terminal in the Red Hook neighborhood of Brooklyn, where the race will take place. The 1.21-mile track will see half of it loop around the parking lot for the Cruise Ship Terminal, while the other half will run the length of the Pier 11 building. In total, the track features 13 turns and will offer a view of the Statue of Liberty, Governor’s Island and the south tip of Manhattan.

Jaguar North America was one of the first automakers to welcome the event, what it calls a “home race.” Jaguar announced its entry into the 2016/2017 Formula E Championship earlier this month, debuting the I-Type 1 race car as well as the creation of Panasonic Jaguar Racing.

The event will take place on July 29 and 30 of 2017 and will mark the final two rounds of the 2016/2017 race calendar. It will be the first FIA-sanctioned open-wheel race to take place within the five boroughs of New York City in modern history.

A version of this article originally appeared at