FIA Formula E champion Lucas di Grassi was honored at an end-of-season awards gala in Montreal on Sunday, while Renault took the team award for the third year in a row.

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport driver di Grassi  was given his trophy by FIA President Jean Todt. The Renault e.dams team was given its award by Formula E Founder and CEO Alejandro Agag and deputy CEO Alberto Longo.

Brazilian driver di Grassi took it down to the wire over the weekend in Montreal, knocking last year’s winner, Sebastian Buemi of the Renault e.dams team, off the mantle. Buemi had gone to the Montreal races with a 10-point advantage but had a series of problems starting with a crash in the second practice session. He finished in 11th place during the second race in Montreal.

The Audi Sport driver had his own series of challenges to contend with this season, including breaking the fibula in his right leg while playing soccer in June.

Buemi had beaten di Grassi last season under controversial circumstances before being handed the award by the judges.

“Although there were tough moments, we had to make tough decisions – it was extremely difficult to race with a broken leg. We committed a lot to this championship since the beginning, fought for victories and fought for championships two years in a row. But there was always something missing – losing by a little margin. This year I was under so much pressure, same as Sebastien [Buemi],” di Grassi said after taking the award.

Renault e.dams has taken the team award since the series started three years ago. Team member Buemi missed taking the driver award by one point in the first season, won it last year, and has driven with the team since the beginning.

SEE ALSO: Mercedes-Benz Joining Formula E Electric Racing Series

The Formula E series has become an ideal racing circuit for automakers working to improve their global image as leaders in vehicle electrification; along with being serious racing enthusiasts.

Last week, Porsche joined the 2019 Formula E series, following close behind Mercedes-Benz and Audi. Like sister company Audi, Porsche decided to leave the World Endurance Championship series, with its historic 24 Hours of Le Mans, in favor of Formula E.

Porsche brings the total to 10 automakers committed to racing in Formula E. Along with Audi and Mercedes-Benz, the remainder of the listing includes BMW, Citroen DS, Jaguar, Mahindra, Renault, and electric carmaker startups Nio and Faraday Future.