BMW is taking on full factory presence at FIA Formula E starting with the fifth racing season in 2018/19.

The German automaker is partnering with the Andretti Formula E team to compete in Formula E series racing events around the world. Their race cars will be equipped with a new electric BMW drivetrain.

BMW Motorsport will be bringing its racing experience to the table while the Andretti team will be driving and servicing the cars. The cars will run off BMW-designed technology including eMotors, gearboxes, differentials, and casings.

A new group within the team, called BMW i Motorsport, will be focused on technology innovations that can be carried over to electromobility. The company sees Formula E as an ideal platform and laboratory for testing out what will go into the BMW iNEXT and other future iterations of its electric cars.

“Through our involvement in Formula E, we are addressing the development towards sustainable and emission-free mobility in the automobile industry and are also making a contribution to the brand’s progression to BMW iNEXT,” said Klaus Fröhlich, member of the board of management of BMW AG, Development. “This project is thoroughly driven by technology. We are using Formula E as a development laboratory, operating under the unique conditions that prevail in motor racing – with very unique demands and opportunities.”

The automaker has been involved with Formula E since season two. At that time, BMW Motorsport entered a technical alliance with the Andretti team. In March, the company was granted manufacturer status for season five and beyond.

In past seasons, BMW has provided a BMW i3 designed to serve as a Medical Car and a BMW i8 serving as a Safety Car during the race series.

Audi yesterday announced that for the 2017/2018 season, the Volkswagen division will be fully responsible for Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport. The team will be changing its name to Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler for that season. The carmaker had been a sponsor of Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport since the 2015/15 racing season.

The other seven manufacturer teams supporting FIA Formula E are DS Automobiles, Jaguar Land Rover, Mahindra Racing, NextEV NIO, Penske Autosport, Renault, and Venturi Automobiles.