Driverless Audi RS7 To Tackle Hockenheim

This weekend Audi will follow through on existing plans to tackle a race track with an autonomous version of its Audi RS7 sans driver.

More than sedately piloting a street course, Audi will attempt to turn a hot lap in the 150-mph high-performance car with no human at the wheel.

The previously reported goal of around two minutes is a pace faster than most people reading this are likely capable of, and even quicker than some pro drivers might do.

The publicity stunt to demonstrate robotic superiority is scheduled Sunday, Oct. 19, and if the car can do the lap in the hoped-for time, it will prove very competitive indeed.

The car is expected to hit the track at 6:50 a.m. EDT (12:50 CEST) before the finale of the DTM (Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters).

SEE ALSO: First Autonomous Driving Calif. Permit Issued To Audi

Audi MediaTV will broadcast the run live and provide an exclusive look behind the scenes at 6:45 am EDT (12:45 CEST).

The Hockenheimring is a race track located in the Rhine valley near the town of Hockenheim. The track, opened in May of 1932, is now comprised of 17 turns over 4.574 kilometers (2.842 miles).

This is not Audi’s first venture in autonomous driving testing. The company was the first company to receive a newly established autonomous driving permit issued by California.

Audi added it has conducted research over tens of thousands of miles in Europe and various U.S. states, where such testing is permitted. The research, explained the German company, is aimed at preparing a highly automated Piloted driving system for freeway traffic conditions.

Audi envisions this technology could be ready for consumer introduction within five years.